A few weeks ago I highlighted three forthcoming books from Baker Academic that might be of interest to some readers.

Here below are three forthcoming books from IVP that caught my eye. The one by Peterson is due out in July; the ones by Kapic and Reeves are coming in September 2012.


Kelly Kapic, A Little Book for New Theologians: Why and How to Study Theology.

“Whenever we read, think, hear or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Yet theology isn’t just a matter of what we think. It affects who we are. In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke’s A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field. He highlights the value and importance of theological study and explains its unique nature as a serious discipline. Not only concerned with content and method, Kapic explores the skills, attitudes and spiritual practices needed by those who take up the discipline. This brief, clear and lively primer draws out the relevance of theology for Christian life, worship, mission, witness and more. ‘Theology is about life,’ writes Kapic. ‘It is not a conversation our souls can afford to avoid.’”

You can read the contents here.


Michael Reeves, Delighting in the Trinity: An Introduction to the Christian Faith.

“If you have ever felt that the doctrine of the Trinity was a liability, a burden to be borne patiently, this is the book that will change your perspective. Michael Reeves’s Delighting in the Trinity presents the triune God as the best thing about the Christian faith. Convinced that ‘the triunity of God is the secret of his beauty,’ Reeves writes from a full heart, with contagious enthusiasm for the Trinity. Delighting in the Trinity is more stimulating, quotable and engaging than we usually expect a theology book to be. Page after page, Reeves finds new ways of talking, draws surprising connections and reminds us that the God of the gospel is good news in three persons.”

—Fred Sanders, Biola University, author of The Deep Things of God: How the Trinity Changes Everything


David Peterson, Transformed by God: New Covenant Life and Ministry.

“Those familiar with the work of David Peterson will know what to expect from any book he writes: careful exegesis, attention to biblical theology, doctrinal synthesis and practical application. This book does not disappoint in any of these areas as David expounds the nature of the Christian life within biblical-theological context. This is Christian scholarship at its best–in the service of the church.”

—Carl R. Trueman, Paul Woolley Professor of Church History, Westminster Theological Seminary, Philadelphia

“David Peterson’s study Transformed by God is a careful, highly competent, biblically faithful and pastorally astute treatment of Jeremiah 31:31-34 and its New Testament resonances, with the New Testament illuminatingly identified as new covenant literature. A fine example of scholarship that serves the church in general and pastors in particular. Highly recommended!”

—Dr. Graham A. Cole, Anglican Professor of Divinity, Beeson Divinity School, Samford University

Print Friendly

Comments:


Justin Taylor


Justin Taylor is senior vice president and publisher for books at Crossway and blogs at Between Two Worlds. You can follow him on Twitter.

Justin Taylor's Books